The Yorkville Fire Hall, today is known as Toronto Fire Station 312, is the oldest fire hall in Toronto. It’s located at 34 Yorkville Ave, in the Bloor-Yorkville neighbourhood.
The History of Yorkville Fire House
In 1889, except for the tower, that structure was demolished and replaced with today’s fire hall. The architectural gem was designed by Mancel Willmot and is made of yellow brick with dark orange brick highlights.
Also known as Fire Station No. 10, the fire hall was restored and renovated to accommodate another truck in 1974. The Toronto Historical Board gave the firehouse heritage status in 1975. When the city’s fire service amalgamated in 1998, it was renamed Toronto Fire Station 312.
Today, the Yorkville Fire Hall is over 140 years old and is situated amongst posh shops and next to the Four Seasons Hotel. The heritage building also serves as one of the busier fire stations in Toronto. Another one of the city’s oldest working fire stations is Kew Beach Fire Hall.
The Coat of Arms
Yorkville had a beautiful High Victorian-style town hall on the west side of Yonge St at Collier St. In 1941, that building was destroyed by fire, but the town hall’s clock and Coat of Arms were saved (slide 10). The clock was transferred to the fire hall tower while the Coat of Arms was added to the building’s front. The crest is made of carved stone and features a beaver atop five symbols that represent the town’s first councillors’ occupations:
- Bull: Butcher, Peter Hutty
- Barrel: brewer, John Severn
- Brick: brickmaker, Thomas Atkinson
- Plane: carpenter, Reeve James Dobson
- Anvil: blacksmith, James Wallis