Toronto’s Terrazzo & Mosaic Tile Storefront Entryways from a Bygone Era

Posted:

November 9, 2019 - The terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W, in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood, features the name "Burns Jewelers" within a gold-coloured pocket watch design. This storefront housed the Benjamin Burns Jewelers from approximately 1922 to 1957
November 9, 2019 – The terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W, in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood, features the name “Burns Jewelers” within a gold-coloured pocket watch design

Colourful mosaic tile and elegant terrazzo entryways served as invitations, skillfully enticing passersby to transition from pedestrians to potential customers. While countless individuals directed their gazes upwards toward store and building signs, these exquisite entryways, also referred to as aprons, quietly beckoned people to step inside the businesses they adorned.

Fortunately, a few mosaic tiles and terrazzo floor entryways have endured in Toronto long after the businesses they advertised have disappeared.

History of Mosaic Tiles

May 12, 2024 – The exterior apron of the Queen St W entrance is decorated with a mosaic tile pattern which bears the name "Wesley Buildings"
May 12, 2024 – The exterior apron of the Queen St W entrance is decorated with a mosaic tile pattern which bears the name “Wesley Buildings”

Mosaic tiles have a rich history dating back to ancient civilizations such as the Greeks, Romans, and Mesopotamians. The art of creating intricate patterns and images using small, colourful pieces of stone or glass has been a popular decorative technique for thousands of years. Mosaic tiles have adorned floors, walls, and ceilings in various types of buildings throughout history, and they continue to be a popular choice for adding artistic flair to interior and exterior spaces today.

What is Terrazzo?

The techniques used in modern terrazzo flooring have their origins in 16th-century Italy. However, the art of terrazzo can be traced back to the mosaic craftsmanship of ancient Rome and evolved as a result of the resourcefulness of Venetian marble workers. They found a creative way to repurpose discarded stone chips, giving rise to the terrazzo techniques we know today. Italian craftsmen introduced these techniques to North America in the late 1800s.

Terrazzo is made by mixing marble, stone, granite, quartz, or glass chips in a cement or epoxy base. It’s then poured into place, ground, and polished. Metal strips divide sections and colour transitions to add decorative patterns, names, initials, logos and street numbers while providing flexibility for expansion and contraction. Both durable and economical, terrazzo floors are works of art.

Terrazzo & Mosaic Tile Entryway Photos

July 4, 2021 - The warm brown terrazzo entryway found at 581 Danforth Ave in the Riverdale neighbourhood proudly showcases the name "Danforth Radio". The company, which had shops throughout Toronto, moved to this location in 1930 and, by 1970, had vacated the building
July 4, 2021 – The warm brown terrazzo entryway found at 581 Danforth Ave in the Riverdale neighbourhood proudly showcases the name “Danforth Radio”. The company, which had shops throughout Toronto, moved to this location in 1930 and, by 1970, had vacated the building
July 4, 2021 - The building at 581 Danforth Ave housed Danforth Radio, a retailer of stereos, TVs, and other electronic devices, from 1930 until approximately 1970. Today, the same building, adorned with a terrazzo apron bearing the elegant "Danforth Radio" inscription in an Art Deco-style font, is home to Treasure Island Toys
July 4, 2021 – The building at 581 Danforth Ave housed Danforth Radio, a retailer of stereos, TVs, and other electronic devices, from 1930 until approximately 1970. Today, the same building, adorned with a terrazzo apron bearing the elegant “Danforth Radio” inscription in an Art Deco-style font, is home to Treasure Island Toys

December 24, 2023 – The yellow and black terrazzo storefront entryway at 627 Queen St W in the Fashion District of Toronto showcases the name "Hick's" and the street number "627". According to the Toronto City Directory, the building's storefront was home to Hick's Meat Market for six decades, from approximately 1909 to 1970
December 24, 2023 – The yellow and black terrazzo storefront entryway at 627 Queen St W in the Fashion District of Toronto showcases the name “Hick’s” and the street number “627”. According to the Toronto City Directory, the building’s storefront was home to Hick’s Meat Market for six decades, from approximately 1909 to 1970
May 12, 2024 – The yellow and black terrazzo apron located at 627 Queen St W, within Toronto's Fashion District, proudly displays the lettering "Hick's" alongside the street number "627". This storefront was the home of Hick's Meat Market for an impressive sixty years, serving the community from around 1909 to 1970. Today, Abstract Arts Tattoos & Piercing occupies the storefront
May 12, 2024 – The yellow and black terrazzo apron located at 627 Queen St W, within Toronto’s Fashion District, proudly displays the lettering “Hick’s” alongside the street number “627”. This storefront was the home of Hick’s Meat Market for an impressive sixty years, serving the community from around 1909 to 1970. Today, Abstract Arts Tattoos & Piercing occupies the storefront

August 14, 2021 - The warm pink terrazzo apron once at 169 Roncesvalles Ave in the Parkdale and Roncesvalles neighbourhoods bore the name "Duanes". This women's shoe store operated in the storefront from 1950 until the mid-1960s. The terrazzo floor has since been removed
August 14, 2021 – The warm pink terrazzo apron once at 169 Roncesvalles Ave in the Parkdale and Roncesvalles neighbourhoods bore the name “Duanes”. This women’s shoe store operated in the storefront from 1950 until the mid-1960s. The terrazzo floor has since been removed
June 19, 2021 - The pink terrazzo entryway once at 169 Roncesvalles Ave proudly displayed the name "Duanes" in a striking gold colour. As a women's shoe store, Duanes served the community from 1950 until the mid-1960s. It's worth noting that the terrazzo floor, once a distinctive feature, has since been removed
June 19, 2021 – The pink terrazzo entryway once at 169 Roncesvalles Ave proudly displayed the name “Duanes” in a striking gold colour. As a women’s shoe store, Duanes served the community from 1950 until the mid-1960s. It’s worth noting that the terrazzo floor, once a distinctive feature, has since been removed

July 24, 2021 – The terrazzo apron, adorned with green, gold, and black hues, displays the name "Lady Ellis Shops Limited" at its location on 187 Roncesvalles Ave in the Parkdale and Roncesvalles neighbourhoods in Toronto. This particular Lady Ellis storefront was dedicated to selling hosiery from 1946 until 1963; however, the company's other stores throughout Toronto diversified their offerings to include ladies' and children's clothing. The company faced financial issues and declared bankruptcy in 1963
July 24, 2021 – The terrazzo apron, adorned with green, gold, and black hues, displays the name “Lady Ellis Shops Limited” at its location on 187 Roncesvalles Ave in the Parkdale and Roncesvalles neighbourhoods in Toronto. This particular Lady Ellis storefront was dedicated to selling hosiery from 1946 until 1963; however, the company’s other stores throughout Toronto diversified their offerings to include ladies’ and children’s clothing. The company faced financial issues and declared bankruptcy in 1963
July 24, 2021 – The green, gold, and black terrazzo storefront entryway adorning 187 Roncesvalles Ave carries the name "Lady Ellis Shops Limited". Part of a large chain of stores across Toronto, this particular Lady Ellis shop specialized in hosiery and served the community from 1946 to 1963. Today, the storefront is home to Scooter Girl Toys
July 24, 2021 – The green, gold, and black terrazzo storefront entryway adorning 187 Roncesvalles Ave carries the name “Lady Ellis Shops Limited”. Part of a large chain of stores across Toronto, this particular Lady Ellis shop specialized in hosiery and served the community from 1946 to 1963. Today, the storefront is home to Scooter Girl Toys

November 9, 2019 - The terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W, in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood, features the name "Burns Jewelers" within a gold-coloured pocket watch design. This storefront housed Benjamin Burns Jewelers from approximately 1922 to 1957
November 9, 2019 – The terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W, in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood, features the name “Burns Jewelers” within a gold-coloured pocket watch design. This storefront housed Benjamin Burns Jewelers from approximately 1922 to 1957
June 12, 2021 - The finely crafted terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W features the name "Burns Jewelers" within a radiant gold-coloured pocket watch design. This storefront apron treasure serves as a tribute to the legacy of Benjamin Burns Jewelers, which occupied the building from about 1922 until 1957
June 12, 2021 – The finely crafted terrazzo entryway of 882 Bloor St W features the name “Burns Jewelers” within a radiant gold-coloured pocket watch design. This storefront apron treasure serves as a tribute to the legacy of Benjamin Burns Jewelers, which occupied the building from about 1922 until 1957

June 19, 2021 – The white, red, and blue mosaic tile apron featuring the name "Lakeview" was uncovered during the 2019 exterior restoration of the Winchester Hotel in Toronto's Cabbagetown neighbourhood. This historic hotel, originally known as the Lake View Hotel, was built in 1888
June 19, 2021 – The white, red, and blue mosaic tile apron featuring the name “Lakeview” was uncovered during the 2019 exterior restoration of the Winchester Hotel in Toronto’s Cabbagetown neighbourhood. This historic hotel, originally known as the Lake View Hotel, was built in 1888
December 4, 2021 – Looking west towards the Winchester Hotel & Hall at 531-537 Parliament St in the Cabbagetown neighbourhood of Toronto. During the 2019 exterior restoration, a remarkable discovery was made. Preservationists uncovered a mosaic tile apron in white, red, and blue, proudly displaying the name "Lakeview." This stunning piece of history hails from the hotel's earlier days when it was known as the Lake View Hotel, built in 1888
December 4, 2021 – Looking west towards the Winchester Hotel & Hall at 531-537 Parliament St in the Cabbagetown neighbourhood of Toronto. During the 2019 exterior restoration, a remarkable discovery was made. Preservationists uncovered a mosaic tile apron in white, red, and blue, proudly displaying the name “Lakeview.” This stunning piece of history hails from the hotel’s earlier days when it was known as the Lake View Hotel, built in 1888

May 12, 2024 – The white, black and red mosaic tiles at the Queen St W entrance proudly display the landmark's original name, the "WESLEY BUILDINGS". Located at 299 Queen St W in the Entertainment District, the building was constructed in 1914/15 to house the head office of the Methodist Church of Canada and the Methodist Book & Publishing Company. It was named after John Wesley, the founder of the Methodist movement in the Church of England
May 12, 2024 – The white, black and red mosaic tiles at the Queen St W entrance proudly display the landmark’s original name, the “WESLEY BUILDINGS“. Located at 299 Queen St W in the Entertainment District, the building was constructed in 1914/15 to house the head office of the Methodist Church of Canada and the Methodist Book & Publishing Company. It was named after John Wesley, the founder of the Methodist movement in the Church of England
April 23, 2023 – The exterior floor entrance of 299 Queen St W is adorned with white, black, and red mosaic tiles, proudly displaying the landmark's original name: the "WESLEY BUILDINGS". This historic Neo-Gothic style building was constructed in 1914/15 to serve as the head office of the Methodist Church of Canada and the Methodist Book & Publishing Company. Today, the building is home to Bell Media Studios
April 23, 2023 – The exterior floor entrance of 299 Queen St W is adorned with white, black, and red mosaic tiles, proudly displaying the landmark’s original name: the “WESLEY BUILDINGS“. This historic Neo-Gothic style building was constructed in 1914/15 to serve as the head office of the Methodist Church of Canada and the Methodist Book & Publishing Company. Today, the building is home to Bell Media Studios

May 12, 2024 – The Alhambra Court Apartments, dating back to the mid-1950s, features a two-tone pink terrazzo entrance adorned with the name "Alhambra". It's located at 1639 Bloor St W, in the High Park neighbourhood of Toronto
May 12, 2024 – The Alhambra Court Apartments, dating back to the mid-1950s, features a two-tone pink terrazzo entrance adorned with the name “Alhambra”. It’s located at 1639 Bloor St W, in the High Park neighbourhood of Toronto
May 12, 2024 – The Alhambra Court Apartments, constructed in the mid-1950s, has a two-tone pink terrazzo entryway that displays the name "Alhambra". The building is situated in the High Park neighbourhood of Toronto, at 1639 Bloor St W
May 12, 2024 – The Alhambra Court Apartments, constructed in the mid-1950s, has a two-tone pink terrazzo entryway that displays the name “Alhambra”. The building is situated in the High Park neighbourhood of Toronto, at 1639 Bloor St W

December 15, 2019 – The dark grey, pink and light grey terrazzo floor entryway at William's Shoe Store features a mirrored plate with the store's name. The shoe shop has been in business since the 1950s and is located at 750 Queen St W in the West Queen West neighbourhood of Toronto
December 15, 2019 – The dark grey, pink and light grey terrazzo floor entryway at William’s Shoe Store features a mirrored plate with the store’s name. The shoe shop has been in business since the 1950s and is located at 750 Queen St W in the West Queen West neighbourhood of Toronto
February 15, 2020 – The terrazzo floor of William's Shoe Store is a stylish blend of dark grey, pink, and light grey, adding elegance to the store's entryway. A mirrored plate displays the store's name, creating a focal point. Situated in the vibrant West Queen West neighbourhood of Toronto, this shoe shop has been serving customers since the 1950s at its location on 750 Queen St W
February 15, 2020 – The terrazzo floor of William’s Shoe Store is a stylish blend of dark grey, pink, and light grey, adding elegance to the store’s entryway. A mirrored plate displays the store’s name, creating a focal point. Situated in the vibrant West Queen West neighbourhood of Toronto, this shoe shop has been serving customers since the 1950s at its location on 750 Queen St W

2021 – The white and green mosaic tiles at the entrance of 1426 Danforth Ave at Monarch Park Ave in the East Danforth neighbourhood spell out the name "TAMBLYN". Once Canada's largest drug store chain, it began in 1904 and by 1962, there were 134 stores throughout Ontario, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. According to the Toronto City Directory, Tamblyn operated from this storefront from 1923 until the early 1960s
2021 – The white and green mosaic tiles at the entrance of 1426 Danforth Ave at Monarch Park Ave in the East Danforth neighbourhood spell out the name “TAMBLYN“. Once Canada’s largest drug store chain, it began in 1904 and by 1962, there were 134 stores throughout Ontario, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. According to the Toronto City Directory, Tamblyn operated from this storefront from 1923 until the early 1960s
June 8, 2024 – The white and green mosaic tiles that adorn the entrance floor of 1426 Danforth Ave at Monarch Park Ave in the East Danforth neighbourhood feature the name "TAMBLYN". The storefront was home to a Tamblyn branch from 1923 until the early 1960s. Tamblyn was established in 1904 and was once the country's largest drugstore chain. The George Weston Ltd empire purchased the nationwide chain in 1962
June 8, 2024 – The white and green mosaic tiles that adorn the entrance floor of 1426 Danforth Ave at Monarch Park Ave in the East Danforth neighbourhood feature the name “TAMBLYN“. The storefront was home to a Tamblyn branch from 1923 until the early 1960s. Tamblyn was established in 1904 and was once the country’s largest drugstore chain. The George Weston Ltd empire purchased the nationwide chain in 1962
January  16, 1935 – A photo of a Tamblyn drugstore once located at 278 Eglinton Ave W, between Oriole Pkwy and Avenue Rd in the Lawrence Park South area of Toronto. Notice the apron was made of mosaic tiles and displays the name "TAMBLYN"
January 16, 1935 – A photo of a Tamblyn drugstore once located at 278 Eglinton Ave W, between Oriole Pkwy and Avenue Rd in the Lawrence Park South area of Toronto. Notice the apron was made of mosaic tiles and displays the name “TAMBLYN” (City of Toronto Archives, Fonds 207, Series 1251, Item 117 – Panda Photography)

May 12, 2024 – The remnants of the terrazzo entryway at 508-510 Queen St W in Toronto's Fashion District now only reveal the letters "F'S" in white and pink. This entrance was once adorned with the name "RUBINOFF'S".

Historical records from the Toronto City Directory tell us that Morris Rubinoff established his dry goods business at 510 Queen St W in 1931. Five years later, he expanded his business to include men's furnishings at 508 Queen St W, eventually specializing solely in men's apparel. The shop's phone number was EM 8-7107. When the store closed in the mid-1970s, it was operated under the name Rubinoff & Sons, offering a range of men's and women's clothing. 

Today, the address is occupied by The Velvet Underground
May 12, 2024 – The remnants of the terrazzo entryway at 508-510 Queen St W in Toronto’s Fashion District now only reveal the letters “F’S” in white and pink. This entrance was once adorned with the name “RUBINOFF’S”.

Historical records from the Toronto City Directory tell us that Morris Rubinoff established his dry goods business at 510 Queen St W in 1931. Five years later, he expanded his business to include men’s furnishings at 508 Queen St W, eventually specializing solely in men’s apparel. The shop’s phone number was EM 8-7107. When the store closed in the mid-1970s, it was operated under the name Rubinoff & Sons, offering a range of men’s and women’s clothing.

Today, the address is occupied by The Velvet Underground
April 2, 2021 – The white and pink remnants of the terrazzo entryway at 508-510 Queen St W in Toronto's Fashion District serve as the only visible clues to the building's past. While all that shows today are the letters "F'S", the exterior floor once bore the name "RUBINOFF'S." Morris Rubinoff started his dry goods business here in 1931. He expanded to sell men's clothing and later, women's clothing. Today, the building houses The Velvet Underground
April 2, 2021 – The white and pink remnants of the terrazzo entryway at 508-510 Queen St W in Toronto’s Fashion District serve as the only visible clues to the building’s past. While all that shows today are the letters “F’S”, the exterior floor once bore the name “RUBINOFF’S.” Morris Rubinoff started his dry goods business here in 1931. He expanded to sell men’s clothing and later, women’s clothing. Today, the building houses The Velvet Underground

May 12, 2024 –  The pink terrazzo floor entryway of 423 College St in the Kensington Market neighbourhood is strikingly embellished with a bold, dark grey letter "R". This initial represents the legacy of Rochester Furniture, which operated within the premises from around 1957 to the early 1990s
May 12, 2024 – The pink terrazzo floor entryway of 423 College St in the Kensington Market neighbourhood is strikingly embellished with a bold, dark grey letter “R”. This initial represents the legacy of Rochester Furniture, which operated within the premises from around 1957 to the early 1990s
May 12, 2024 – Looking southwest toward 423 College St in the Kensington Market neighbourhood of Toronto. The entrance apron features a letter "R" in the pink terrazzo and serves as a nostalgic reminder of the bygone era when Rochester Furniture operated from this building from the late 1950s to the early 1990s
May 12, 2024 – Looking southwest toward 423 College St in the Kensington Market neighbourhood of Toronto. The entrance apron features a letter “R” in the pink terrazzo and serves as a nostalgic reminder of the bygone era when Rochester Furniture operated from this building from the late 1950s to the early 1990s

July 3, 2021 – The striking yellow and grey terrazzo storefront entrance apron at 181-183 King St W in the Old Town neighbourhood, proudly displays the elegant name "IDEAL-TILE". According to the Toronto City Directory, the company was located at this address during the years 1950 and 1951
July 3, 2021 – The striking yellow and grey terrazzo storefront entrance apron at 181-183 King St W in the Old Town neighbourhood, proudly displays the elegant name “IDEAL-TILE”. According to the Toronto City Directory, the company was located at this address during the years 1950 and 1951
June 1, 2024 – The storefront entryway at 181-183 King St E features an eye-catching yellow and grey terrazzo storefront entryway showcasing the name "IDEAL-TILE". Historical records from the Toronto City Directory indicate that the company operated from this address during the years 1950 and 1951. They specialized in selling rubber, plastic, and marboleum tiles, plywood, mirrors, arborite, linoleum, bathroom cabinets, and an array of other products
June 1, 2024 – The storefront entryway at 181-183 King St E features an eye-catching yellow and grey terrazzo storefront entryway showcasing the name “IDEAL-TILE”. Historical records from the Toronto City Directory indicate that the company operated from this address during the years 1950 and 1951. They specialized in selling rubber, plastic, and marboleum tiles, plywood, mirrors, arborite, linoleum, bathroom cabinets, and an array of other products

June 8, 2024 – The yellow and grey storefront entryway at 1006 Kingston Rd in the Upper Beaches neighbourhood features the letter "K". The initial was for Kingston Ladies Wear, which appears at this address in the Toronto City Directory from 1931 until 1977. Today, the storefront has been home to Cut N’ Run Barbershop
June 8, 2024 – The yellow and grey storefront entryway at 1006 Kingston Rd in the Upper Beaches neighbourhood features the letter “K”. The initial was for Kingston Ladies Wear, which appears at this address in the Toronto City Directory from 1931 until 1977. Today, the storefront has been home to Cut N’ Run Barbershop
June 8, 2024 – The storefront entryway at 1006 Kingston Rd in the Upper Beaches neighbourhood features a unique charm with its yellow and grey terrazzo floor. The prominent letter "K" adorning the storefront harks back to the bygone era when Kingston Ladies Wear was located here from 1931 until 1977, according to the Toronto City Directory. Fast forward to today, and the same storefront is home to Cut N’ Run Barbershop
June 8, 2024 – The storefront entryway at 1006 Kingston Rd in the Upper Beaches neighbourhood features a unique charm with its yellow and grey terrazzo floor. The prominent letter “K” adorning the storefront harks back to the bygone era when Kingston Ladies Wear was located here from 1931 until 1977, according to the Toronto City Directory. Fast forward to today, and the same storefront is home to Cut N’ Run Barbershop

December 12, 2021 – The floor entrances of The Opera House, situated at 735 Queen St E in the Riverside neighbourhood, greet visitors with a pretty mosaic tile design. This historic building was originally constructed as La Plaza Theatre in 1909, showcasing vaudeville acts and later shifting to movies. In 1989, the venue underwent a transformation and became The Opera House, a live entertainment destination
December 12, 2021 – The floor entrances of The Opera House, situated at 735 Queen St E in the Riverside neighbourhood, greet visitors with a pretty mosaic tile design. This historic building was originally constructed as La Plaza Theatre in 1909, showcasing vaudeville acts and later shifting to movies. In 1989, the venue underwent a transformation and became The Opera House, a live entertainment destination
March 13, 2021 – The Opera House is located at 735 Queen St E in the Riverside neighbourhood. Mosaic tiles adorn the floors at both front doors of the venue, adding to its unique charm. This historic building, originally named La Plaza Theatre, has stood since 1909 and hosted vaudeville performances
March 13, 2021 – The Opera House is located at 735 Queen St E in the Riverside neighbourhood. Mosaic tiles adorn the floors at both front doors of the venue, adding to its unique charm. This historic building, originally named La Plaza Theatre, has stood since 1909 and hosted vaudeville performances

July 24, 2021 – The cream and grey terrazzo floor, adorned with geometric patterns, greets visitors as they step into the historic Paradise Theatre located at 1006 Bloor St W. Built in 1937 in the elegant Art Deco style, the theatre was designed by architect Benjamin Brown
July 24, 2021 – The cream and grey terrazzo floor, adorned with geometric patterns, greets visitors as they step into the historic Paradise Theatre located at 1006 Bloor St W. Built in 1937 in the elegant Art Deco style, the theatre was designed by architect Benjamin Brown
October 16, 2022 – Looking northwest towards the Paradise Theatre at 1006 Bloor St W in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood of Toronto. The elegant cream and grey terrazzo floor at the theatre's entrance features an array of geometric shapes. This architectural treasure, dating back to 1937, is a testament to the timeless beauty of the Art Deco style
October 16, 2022 – Looking northwest towards the Paradise Theatre at 1006 Bloor St W in the Bloorcourt Village neighbourhood of Toronto. The elegant cream and grey terrazzo floor at the theatre’s entrance features an array of geometric shapes. This architectural treasure, dating back to 1937, is a testament to the timeless beauty of the Art Deco style

May 29, 2022 – The entrance apron of 2377 Queen St E at Beech Ave in The Beaches neighbourhood is decorated with a combination of white and green mosaic tiles, proudly displaying the name "TAMBLYN". This storefront was once the location of a Tamblyn branch from 1929 until the early 1970s. Founded in 1904 by Gordon Tamblyn, it became the largest drugstore chain in Canada before being acquired by the George Weston Ltd company in 1962
May 29, 2022 – The entrance apron of 2377 Queen St E at Beech Ave in The Beaches neighbourhood is decorated with a combination of white and green mosaic tiles, proudly displaying the name “TAMBLYN“. This storefront was once the location of a Tamblyn branch from 1929 until the early 1970s. Founded in 1904 by Gordon Tamblyn, it became the largest drugstore chain in Canada before being acquired by the George Weston Ltd company in 1962
2022 – The storefront entryway at 2377 Queen St E and Beech Ave in The Beaches neighbourhood features the name "TAMBLYN". These white and green mosaic tiles are a reminder of the time when this location served as a Tamblyn drugstore branch from 1929 until the early 1970s
2022 – The storefront entryway at 2377 Queen St E and Beech Ave in The Beaches neighbourhood features the name “TAMBLYN“. These white and green mosaic tiles are a reminder of the time when this location served as a Tamblyn drugstore branch from 1929 until the early 1970s

May 25, 2024 – The muted orange and dark grey terrazzo apron at 196 Queen St W and St Patrick St features the name “Rex”. Today known as The Rex Hotel, Jazz & Blues Bar, the hotel first appears in the 1955 Toronto City Directory
May 25, 2024 – The muted orange and dark grey terrazzo apron at 196 Queen St W and St Patrick St features the name “Rex”. Today known as The Rex Hotel, Jazz & Blues Bar, the hotel first appears in the 1955 Toronto City Directory
June 19, 2021 – The Rex Hotel, Jazz and Blues Bar is located at 196 Queen St W in the Entertainment District of Toronto. The Queen St W entrance of the hotel features a terrazzo entryway in a combination of muted orange and dark grey hues displaying the name "Rex"
June 19, 2021 – The Rex Hotel, Jazz and Blues Bar is located at 196 Queen St W in the Entertainment District of Toronto. The Queen St W entrance of the hotel features a terrazzo entryway in a combination of muted orange and dark grey hues displaying the name “Rex”

SOURCE
  • The Toronto Daily Star Newspaper Archives: May 19, 1950, pg 55 (Ideal-Tile)
  • The Toronto Daily Star Newspaper Archives: Jun 17, 1955, pg 47 (Alhambra Court Apartments)
  • The Globe and Mail Newspaper Archives: Mar 7, 1956, pg 22 (Lady Ellis Shops)
  • The Globe and Mail Newspaper Archives: Feb 6, 1963, pg 20 (Lady Ellis Shops)
  • Britannica: Mosaic Art
  • NTMA: History of Terrazzo
  • Photo: Denise Marie for TorontoJourney416
  • Vintage Photos: City of Toronto Archives
  • Toronto City Directory by Might Directories Ltd courtesy of Toronto Public Library

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

24,489FollowersFollow
103FollowersFollow
8,850FollowersFollow