Looking northwest towards the Imperial Theatre, today’s Ed Mirvish Theatre, at 244 Victoria St in Toronto’s Garden District.
The theatre was built in 1919/20 and was originally known as Pantages. It was one of Canada’s last combination vaudeville/movie-house theatres. It later became known as the Imperial and then, in the early 1970s, the Imperial Six when the 3,500+ seat theatre was converted into one of the world’s first multiplexes. By 1989, the gem was rebuilt into a live theatre, was renamed the Pantages, and the Phantom of the Opera began a ten-year run.
In more recent years, it was known as Canon Theatre and, since 2011, the Ed Mirvish Theatre.
- Photo: Denise Marie for TorontoJourney416
- Vintage Photo: City of Toronto Archives