Looking southwest from the intersection of Front St E, Church St and Wellington St E in the St Lawrence neighbourhood.
Notice the Gooderham Building on the right. Since 1892, the wedge-shaped building has stood guard at the unique corner. It originally served as the head office of the liquor distilling company Gooderham & Worts Limited.
Along the south side of Front St E, the remaining 19th-century buildings include the Beardmore Building at 35-39 Front St E (built 1872 and originally Griffith’s Block), the Perkins Block at 41-43 Front St E (built 1875), the Dixon Block at 45-47 Front St E (built 1872) and a warehouse at 49 Front St E (built 1873).
- Photo: Denise Marie for TorontoJourney416
- Vintage Photo: City of Toronto Archives