Looking north up Roncesvalles Ave from the intersection of Queen St W, King St W and The Queensway straddling the borders of Parkdale and Sunnyside neighbourhoods of Toronto.
The archive photo shows the Edgewater Hotel on the left. The hotel opened in 1939, featuring over 40 guestrooms and nightly entertainment. In the mid-1990s, the hotel was renamed the Royal Princess.
It later became a Days Inn, and in 2009 the iconic “Edgewater” neon sign was removed due to deterioration. The hotel then became Howard Johnson’s, and since 2020, it’s been home to Hotel Shelter in partnership with the City of Toronto.
- Photo: Denise Marie for TorontoJourney416
- Vintage Photo: City of Toronto Archives